Skip to Content
Skip to Navigation

The Hillman Prize Previous Honorees

Click on a column heading to sort the list
Yearsort icon Category Honoree Title Publisher/Airer Winner's Page
1980 Broadcast Bill Moyers' Journal Campaign Report #3 WNET/13
1980 Broadcast MacNeil-Lehrer Report Special award for continued excellence in television journalism
1979 Book William Shawcross Sideshow - Kissinger, Nixon and the Destruction of Cambodia
1979 Newspaper D e i d re Murphy for a series on poverty Rochester Democrat & Chronicle
1979 Magazine Michael H. Brown Love Canal and the Poisoning of America The Atlantic Monthly
1979 Broadcast Steve Singer and Tom Priestley The Killing Ground ABC-TV News Closeup
1979 Broadcast Carol Colman Women at Work WRFM-New York
1978 Book Charles E. Silberman Criminal Violence, Criminal J u s t i c e
1978 Newspaper Michael Flannery & Bruce Ingersoll for a series on the working wounded Chicago Sun Times
1978 Newspaper I . F. Stone Special Award
1978 Magazine Tracy Kidder Soldiers of Misfortune The Atlantic Monthly
1978 Broadcast Abby Mann King Abby Mann/Filmway/NBC
1977 Book Philip Caputo A Rumor of War
1977 Newspaper Stan Swofford for a series on the Wilmington 10 Greensboro (NC) Daily News
1977 Magazine Eliot Marshall Anatomy of Health Care Costs The New Republic
1977 Broadcast Bill Moyers The Fire Next Door
1977 Broadcast ABC Television Network Roots (special award) ABC-TV
1976 Book Richard Kluger Simple Justice
1976 Newspaper John Seigenthaler for courage in publishing The Tennessean
1976 Magazine Guy Neal Williams The Mushroom Pickers Philadelphia Magazine
1976 Broadcast Paul Leaf Judge Horton and the Scottsboro Boys
1975 Book E. J. Kahn, Jr. The China Hands
1975 Newspaper William S. Randall & Stephen D. Solomon investigative reporting Philadelphia Inquirer
1975 Magazine Susan Sheehan A Welfare Mother The New Yorker
1975 Broadcast CBS Television Network Fear on Trial CBS-TV