Canadian Hillman Prize Previous Honourees | Hillman Foundation

Hillman Prizes

Canadian Hillman Prize Previous Honourees

Since 1950, the Sidney Hillman Foundation has honoured U.S journalists who pursue investigative reporting and deep storytelling in service of the common good. In 2011, the Sidney Hillman Foundation inaugurated the Canadian Hillman Prize. We are pleased to offer this prize to a Canadian journalist whose work makes a difference to the lives of Canadians.

2023 Canadian Hillman Prize

2023 Canadian Hillman Prize WinnersRachel Mendleson and Steve Buist


The Toronto Star and the Hamilton Spectator

2023 Honourable Mention

2023 Honourable Mention winnersChantal Levigne and Gil Shochat

Recycling’s Dirty Secrets/Les sales secrets du recyclage

Société Radio-Canada Enquête

2023 Honourable Mention

2023 Honourable Mention WinnersAndrew Russell, Carolyn Jarvis, Michael Wrobel and Kenneth Jackson

Profiting Off Kids

Global News and APTN

2022 Canadian Hillman Prize

2022 Canadian Hillman Prize WinnersNicholas Hune-Brown

The Shadowy Business of International Education

The Walrus

2022 Honourable Mention

2022 Honourable Mention WinnersNoor Javed, Steve Buist, Emma McIntosh, Sheila Wang

Friends with Benefits series: Hwy 413/MZOs/Bradford Bypass

Torstar/Toronto Star and Canada’s National Observer

2022 Honourable Mention

2022 Honourable Mention WinnersSylvie Fournier and Judith Plamondon

They Stole My Fertility

Société Radio-Canada

2021 Canadian Hillman Prize

2021 Canadian Hillman Prize WinnersGrant Robertson

‘We are not prepared’: The flaws inside Public Health that hurt Canada’s readiness for COVID-19

The Globe and Mail

2021 Honourable Mention

2021 Honourable Mention WinnersKenneth Jackson, Cullen Crozier

The Death Report

Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN)

2021 Honourable Mention

2020 Hillman Canada Prize for Democracy and Social Justice WinnersSteve Buist, Katrina Clarke, Joanna Frketich

House of Horrors: Hamilton’s Rosslyn Retirement Residence

The Hamilton Spectator

2020 Canadian Hillman Prize

2020 Canadian Hillman Prize WinnersGarth Mullins, Sam Fenn, Lisa Hale, Alexander B. Kim, Ryan McNeil, Laura Shaver, Chereece Keewatin

Change Intolerance (Parts 1 and 2)​


2020 Hillman Canada Prize for Democracy and Social Justice

2020 Hillman Canada Prize for Democracy and Social Justice WinnersHarsha Walia, Executive Director; Josh Paterson; Grace Pastine, Litigation Director; Iman Baobeid, Communications and Outreach Manager

BC Civil Liberties Association

2019 Canadian Hillman Prize

2019 Canadian Hillman Prize WinnersHarvey Cashore, Bob McKeown, Kimberly Ivany, Aileen McBride, Saman Malik, Doug Husby, Lisa Mayor

Unbuckled: School Bus Safety​

CBC’s The Fifth Estate

2019 Honourable Mention2019 Honourable Mention

Moira Welsh, Randy Risling

The Fix

Toronto Star

2019 Honourable Mention

2019 Honourable Mention

Amanda Roth, Zane Schwartz, Murad Hemmadi, Sean Craig

Sidewalk Toronto

The Logic

2018 Canadian Hillman Prize

2018 Canadian Hillman Prize WinnersJayme Poisson, David Bruser

Grassy Narrows mercury contamination​

The Toronto Star

2018 Honourable Mention2018 Honourable Mention

Patti Sonntag, Robert Cribb, Mike De Souza, Carolyn Jarvis, Elizabeth McSheffrey, Patricia W. Elliott, and journalism students at the universities of Concordia, Ryerson, Regina and British Columbia

The Price of Oil

A collaboration of the Toronto Star, National Observer, Global News, the Corporate Mapping Project, and four Canadian universities

2018 Honourable Mention2018 Honourable Mention

Hilary Beaumont, Martha Troian, Justin Ling, Victoria Ptashnick, Mallika Viegas, Natalie Alcoba

Canada’s Indigenous water crisis


2017 Canadian Hillman Prize Winners2017 Canadian Hillman Prize

Min Sook Lee, Lisa Valencia-Svensson

Migrant Dreams


2017 Honourable Mention

Sara Mojtehedzadeh, Melissa Renwick, Paul Watson, Cameron Tulk, Kelsey Wilson, Frances Kelly

A workers’ compensation system in crisis

Toronto Star

2016 Canadian Hillman Prize

The 2016 Hillman Prize judges chose three pieces that brought to light critical new information on the subject of missing and murdered Aboriginal women in Canada and contributed to the federal government’s decision to call an inquiry into this tragedy.

2016 Canadian Hillman Prize WinnerKathryn Blaze Baum, Renata D’Aliesio, Matthew McClearn, Laura Blenkinsop, Chris Manza, Kristy Hoffman

“A Country’s Crisis: Canada’s Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women”

The Globe and Mail


2016 Canadian Hillman Prize WinnerJosée Dupuis, Emmanuel Marchand

SQ abuse: women break the silence”

Radio-Canada’s Enquête


2016 Canadian Hillman Prize WinnerCecil Rosner, Cate Friesen, Connie Walker, Duncan McCue, William Wolfe-Wylie, Richard Grasley, Michael Leschart, Michael Pereira, Tiar Wilson, Kimberly Ivany, Martha Troian, Chantelle Bellrichard, Joanne Levasseur, Teghan Beaudette, Kristy Hoffman, Donna Lee, Tara Lindemann

“Missing and Murdered: Unsolved Cases of Indigenous Women and Girls”

Canadian Broadcasting Corporation

Desmond Cole2016 Honourable Mention

Desmond Cole

“The Skin I’m In”

Toronto Life


Toronto StarAndrew Bailey, Desmond Cole, Wendy Gillis, San Grewal, Royson James, Hidy Ng, Jim Rankin, Patty Winsa

“Known to Police”

The Toronto Star

Ed Tubb2016 Honourable Mention

Ed Tubb

“Minding the Monster”

The Walrus

2015 Honourable Mention

Kevin Rollason

While He Waited

Winnipeg Free Press

2015 Honourable Mention

Kathy Tomlinson & Raj Ahluwalia

Employer Abuses of the Temporary Foreign Worker Program

CBC News The National

2014 Canadian Hillman Prize Winner2014 Canadian Hillman Prize

Karen Kleiss and Darcy Henton

Fatal Care

Edmonton Journal/Calgary Herald

View Karen and Darcy’s acceptance speech

2012 Canadian Hillman Prize

Diana Swain, Timothy Sawa, Angela Gilbert

Scout’s Honour

CBC Investigative Unit and the fifth estate

View Diana, Timothy, and Angela’s acceptance speech

2011 Canadian Hillman Prize

Steve Buist

“Code Red”

Hamilton Spectator

2011 Honourable Mention

Tyler Walsh, Helen Fallding, Joe Bryksa

“No Running Water”

Winnipeg Free Press