Call for Entries for the 2024 Hillman Prizes Now Open | Hillman Foundation

Clear It With Sidney

The best of the week’s news by Lindsay Beyerstein

Call for Entries for the 2024 Hillman Prizes Now Open

NEW YORK (Nov 28, 2023) — The Sidney Hillman Foundation is now accepting entries for the 2024 Hillman Prizes honoring excellence in investigative journalism and commentary in service of the common good.

The Hillman Prizes celebrate print, digital and broadcast reporting that exposes social and economic injustice and leads to meaningful public policy change. Hillman Prize winners will be awarded a $5,000 honorarium and a certificate at our celebration in New York City to be held on May 7, 2024

The 2024 Hillman Prizes will be awarded in the following categories:

  • Book (nonfiction)
  • Newspaper Reporting (story/series/multimedia - may include photo, video, graphics - print/online)
  • Magazine Reporting (longform; print/online)
  • Broadcast Journalism (television, radio, podcast; at least 20 minutes in total package length)
  • Opinion and Analysis Journalism (commentary and analysis in any medium)

New in 2024, the foundation will administer the SEIU Award for Reporting on Racial and Economic Justice. All Hillman Prize entries will be automatically considered for this award as well.

“As the world around us becomes more divided and dangerous, we are reminded of the importance of the truth, and the crucial role investigative journalists play in uncovering it,” said Alexandra Lescaze, executive director of the Sidney Hillman Foundation. “Their work holding powerful people to account deserves to be acknowledged and supported, now more than ever, and  the Sidney Hillman Foundation is proud to do just that.” 

Since 1950, the Sidney Hillman Foundation has honored journalists, writers and public figures who pursue investigative journalism and public policy for the common good. Sidney Hillman was the founding president of the Amalgamated Clothing and Textile Workers Union, a predecessor of Workers United, SEIU. An architect of the New Deal, Hillman fought to build a vibrant union movement extending beyond the shop floor to all aspects of working people’s lives.

Entries must have been published or broadcast in 2023 and made widely available to a U.S audience. Nominated material and a cover letter can be submitted here. There is no fee to enter. Deadline for entries is January 30, 2024 at 11:59pm EST.

The 2024 Hillman Prize judges are Jamelle Bouie, columnist, The New York Times; Maria Carrillo, former enterprise editor Tampa Bay Times/Houston Chronicle; Ta-Nehisi Coates, bestselling author and former national correspondent, The Atlantic; Alix Freedman, global editor, Ethics and Standards, Reuters; Harold Meyerson, editor at large, The American Prospect; and Katrina vanden Heuvel, editorial director and publisher, The Nation.

For entry or event questions, please contact: 

Alexandra Lescaze or 917-696-2494