Canadian Hillman Prize | Hillman Foundation

Hillman Prizes

Canadian Hillman Prize

Since 1950, the Sidney Hillman Foundation has honoured U.S journalists who pursue investigative reporting and deep storytelling in service of the common good. In 2011, the Sidney Hillman Foundation inaugurated the Canadian Hillman Prize. We are pleased to offer this prize to a Canadian journalist whose work makes a difference to the lives of Canadians.

2017 Canadian Hillman Prize

2017 Canadian Hillman Prize WinnersMin Sook Lee, Lisa Valencia-Svensson

Migrant Dreams


Toronto Star team2017 Honourable Mention

Sara Mojtehedzadeh, Melissa Renwick, Paul Watson, Cameron Tulk, Kelsey Wilson, Frances Kelly

A workers’ compensation system in crisis

Toronto Star

APTN team2017 Honourable Mention

Jorge Barrera, Mark Blackburn, Francine Compton

APTN Investigates: Quest for Innocence

Aboriginal Peoples Television Network