Skip to Content
Skip to Navigation

Submissions for the Hillman Prizes in Journalism


– Annual Prizes Honor Journalism Dedicated to Social and Economic Justice –

The Sidney Hillman Foundation is now accepting nominations and submissions for the 2011 Hillman Prizes, which honor investigative journalism that fosters social and economic justice.

The 2011 prizes will be given for work produced, published, broadcast, or exhibited in 2010. Our six categories will include books (non-fiction), reporting in newspaper, magazine, and online (including blogs), film and broadcast journalism (includes television and radio), and photojournalism. Authors, editors, reporters, producers and photo editors are urged to submit nominations now. The contest is open to journalists and subjects globally, although work must be published in the United States.
Note, the non-fiction book category will be open to books published in the United States and/or Canada. For our other categories, there will be a separate Canadian Hillman Prize inaugurated this year for work published in Canada.

The postmark deadline for ALL nominations and submissions is January 31, 2011. There is no submission fee. A cover letter and four copies of the nominated material are all that are required. For photojournalism entries, we would most like to see tear sheets (photos as they were published), but scanned work on discs is also acceptable and/or can be supplemental. Please fill out the nomination form on our website. Online and blog entries can be submitted entirely on this form.

Winners will be announced in May 2011. Each winner is awarded travel to New York City to receive a $5,000 prize and a certificate designed by New Yorker cartoonist, Edward Sorel, at our cocktail reception and awards ceremony to be held May 19, 2011.

Submissions are judged by a distinguished panel of judges: Hendrik Hertzberg, senior editor, The New Yorker, Susan Meiselas, Magnum photographer, Harold Meyerson, Washington Post and Los Angeles Times columnist and editor-at-large, The American Prospect, Katrina vanden Heuvel, editor and publisher, The Nation, Rose Marie Arce, senior producer, CNN, and Charles Kaiser, “Full Court Press,” found on the website of the Sidney Hillman Foundation.

Winners of the 2010 Hillman Prizes were Nick Reding for “Methland” in the book category, Mark Pittman, Bob Ivry, Alison Fitzgerald & Craig Torres for their Bloomberg News series “The Fight for Transparency” in the newspaper category, Rebecca Clarren’s “The Dark Side of Dairies” in High Country News in the magazine category, the two photo series “Ian Fisher: American Soldier” and “Below the Line: Childhood Poverty in Colorado” in The Denver Post in the photography category, Maria Hinojosa for her NOW segment, "Justice Delayed," on PBS in the broadcast category, and Jonathan Cohn and Ezra Klein for their healthcare blogging on the websites of The New Republic and The Washington Post respectively, in the blog category. Dorothy Sue Cobble, professor of labor studies, history, and women’s and gender studies at Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, won the Sol Stetin Award for Labor History.

Since 1950, the Sidney Hillman Foundation has honored journalists, writers and public figures who pursue social justice and public policy for the common good. Sidney Hillman was the founding president of the Amalgamated Clothing and Textile Workers Union of America, a predecessor union of Workers United, SEIU. Sidney Hillman, an architect of the New Deal, fought to build a vibrant union movement extending beyond the shop floor to all aspects of workers’ lives.

Please forward all nominations/submissions to:
Alexandra Lescaze
Executive Director, The Sidney Hillman Foundation
49 West 27th Street, 3rd Floor New York, NY 10001
[email protected]

Certificate designed by Edward Sorel

The Sidney is awarded monthly to a piece published in an American magazine, newspaper, on a news site, or a blog. Television and radio broadcasts by an American news outlet are also eligible, as are published photography series.

Deadlines are the last day of each month. The piece must have been published in the month preceding the deadline. In the case of magazines, please nominate according to the issue date on the publication, not when it first appeared.

Nominations are accepted for one's own work, or for someone else's.

The Foundation will announce a winner on the second Wednesday of each month. Recipients will be awarded $500, a bottle of union-made wine, and a certificate designed especially for the Sidney by New Yorker cartoonist, Edward Sorel.

If you wish to nominate yourself or a piece by anyone else, please click here for our nomination form.If you have any further questions about the nomination process, please send your inquiry to [email protected]